Finding information in technology

This unit will assist you to know the good quality data meaning and teach how to evaluate the material of study of technology and the internet is information provider.

Find and use information

  • Identify knowledge level.Second, use the self-evaluation questions before reading the guide to know your knowledge level.
    1. First, to explore all unit resources and activities you’ll need maximum 9 hours to complete it.

After answering the questions save or print them then highlight the suitable numbers of the scale after that review your answers finally put your full attention to these area when you work through the guide.

  • Key resources

Finding information in technology depends on confident of the best places to search, to find the information you need?

4 – Very confident

3 – Confident

2 – Not very confident

1 – Not confident at all

The journal articles as a source of information How familiar are you with it?

4 – Very familiar

3 – Familiar

2 – Not very familiar

  1. – Not familiar at all
  • information search on technology

when you start a new search for data does the following statement will match it well?

The information that I need to fill in the gabs in my knowledge I spend some time think of the data that I already know.

3 – This is an excellent match; this is exactly what I do

2 – This is a reasonable match; I do this to some extent

1 – This does not match; I don’t do this at all

Thinking of keywords or search words to use it in searching for data does the statement will match it well?

First, I think of the word that’s should be appropriate for my topic. Second, I begin with my search considering of synonyms and another subject words to use it in describing my topic.

3 – This is an excellent match; this is exactly what I do

2 – This is a reasonable match; I do this to some extent

1 – This does not match; I don’t do this at all

1.4 Evaluating information

The description of the rapprochement to evaluate the used information how does it will match the following statement well?

Based on a new piece of information, I consider the quality of the data and decide to use it or not.

3 – This is an excellent match; this is exactly what I do

2 – This is a reasonable match; I do this to some extent

1 – This does not match; I don’t do this at all

 

1.5 Organizing information

There are different types of references the first one cite references and the second one refer the people who assist you, are you confident enough to refer both of them?

4 – Very confident

3 – Confident

2 – Not very confident

1 – Not confident at all

1.6 Keeping up-to-date

Are you familiar with the different methods to be updated with the information?

4 – Very familiar

3 – Familiar

2 – Not very familiar

1 – Not familiar at all

http://www.open.edu/openlearn/ocw/mod/oucontent/view.php?printable=1&id=3215

Leave a Reply

